As a registered training organisation (RTO), the Institute operates within the Vocational Education and Training Quality Framework (VETQF) and the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) delivering nationally recognised qualifications and Units of Competency.

Operating under the VET Quality Framework and Australian Qualifications Framework, the Institute provides:

What is a registered training organisation (RTO)?

Registered training organisations (RTOs) are providers and assessors of nationally recognised training. Only RTOs can issue nationally recognised qualifications.

In order to become registered, the Institute has to meet the standards set by the VET Quality Framework. These standards ensures a very high quality of Vocational Education and Training (VET) services throughout Australia. To ensure ANITAD continues to deliver quality training and assessment, our registration must be audited and renewed by the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) at least every five years. ASQA can audit the Institute at any time during its period of registration.

The Nationally Recognised Training (NRT) logo

The NRT logo is a distinguishable mark of quality for promoting and certifying national vocational education and training leading to AQF qualifications or Statements of Attainment.

The NRT logo can only be used by registered training organizations (RTOs), State and Territory registering/course accrediting bodies. Use of the logo means:

What is the VET quality framework (VETQF)?

The VET Quality Framework is aimed at achieving greater national consistency in the way providers are registered and monitored and in how standards in the vocational education and training (VET) sector are enforced.

The VET Quality Framework comprises:

What is a nationally accredited qualification?

A nationally accredited qualification is one that has been quality assessed and recognised in compliance with the Australian Qualifications Framework. An accredited qualification ensures formal recognition of a qualification across the Australian education and training sector (e.g. Universities, TAFE, schools and colleges, private RTO's) as well all other industries which require proof of a formal qualification.

  Australian Qualifications Framework 2013 (second edition)

The database of accredited qualifications and units of competency can be found at

What is a Unit of Competency?

Units of competency are the nationally agreed statements of the skills and knowledge required for effective performance in a particular job or job function. Units of competency describe work outcomes as agreed by industry. As such, they do not describe the procedures necessary to perform a particular role, but rather, identify the skills and knowledge, as outcomes, that contribute to the whole job function. Each unit of competency describes:

Units of competency are not aligned to levels within the AQF because units of competency can be included across a range of qualification levels. However, the qualification in which a unit is first packaged in a training package is indicated in the unit code.

On this page
Related links
     RTO services
Related downloads

Related reading

AQF 2013
2nd edition

Australian Qualifications Framework, second edition 2013. Australian Qualifications Framework Council.
ISBN 978 0 9870562 2 1


Standards for Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) 2015

© Australian National Institute for Training & Development Inc.,  ABN 77 551 413 762, RTO No. 40523. All rights reserved
Sitemap      |      Terms and Conditions      |      Privacy     |